Oisin Murphy flies to century of wins in quest for third Champion Jockey title

News | 17th August 2021

Two-time champion Oisin Murphy was last night the first jockey to reach 100 winners in the 2021 Flat Jockeys’ Championship and, alarmingly for his rivals, in far fewer rides than ever before.

The 25-year-old hit the milestone with the Rod Millman-trained Prince of Harts in the penultimate race at Windsor on Monday evening. He has been in scintillating form so far this season, with 10 Group & Listed victories and just a couple of weeks ago, rode 16 winners in one week, including a five-timer at Kempton on Wednesday 4th August and two trebles at Brighton and Newmarket.

Not only this, but Murphy has smashed through the barrier of 100 winners in far fewer rides than ever before. In his previous two title-winning seasons, he has taken 539 (2020) and 544 rides (2019) to get to a century of wins, with strike rates of 19% and 18% respectively.

However, this season Murphy has upped his strike rate to 23% to hit the milestone in 105 rides less than his previous best of last year:


No. of rides:

Strike rate:













Oisin Murphy 100 wins

The Lambourn-based jockey was thrilled to secure a century with an improved strike rate and is determined to lift the trophy once again on QIPCO British Champions Day at Ascot on Saturday 16th October.

“I’m delighted to reach 100 winners in the Flat Jockeys’ Championship. So much thanks goes to all the stable staff and connections that are behind me. I really appreciate it,” Murphy said.

“I’m very fortunate to ride for great people and I’d love to be crowned champion jockey once again on QIPCO British Champions Day at Ascot.

“It’s fantastic that I’ve reached a century of winners in fewer rides than I’ve managed before, but William Buick and Tom Marquand are world-class riders and the hard work continues in the chase to ride winners.”

Murphy’s century of winners includes two Group 1 QIPCO British Champions Series wins, with the Andrew Balding-trained Alcohol Free at Royal Ascot (Coronation Stakes) and the Qatar Goodwood Festival (Qatar Sussex Stakes).

Oisin Murphy 2021 QIPCO British Champions Series winners
Coronation Stakes (left) and Sussex Stakes (right)

The pair go for their third Group 1 this season in the Juddmonte International at York tomorrow, the latest leg in the middle distance category of the QIPCO British Champions Series.

At the time of writing, Murphy sits 14 wins ahead of his nearest rival Buick (86 wins) and 18 ahead of Marquand (82), with just less than two months of the season remaining.

Flat Jockeys' Championship table

The 2021 champion flat jockey will be crowned on QIPCO British Champions Day at Ascot Racecourse on Saturday 16th October. Get your tickets here.