Oisin Murphy soars to 1000 British winners

News | 27th October 2020

Reigning Champion Jockey, Oisin Murphy secured his 1,000th British career victory with Perfect Sign at Southwell.

The 25-year-old joins a stellar list of jockeys to have reached the landmark including three-time Champion Jockeys Frankie Dettori, Ryan Moore and Silvestre de Sousa.

On reaching the milestone, Murphy, said: “I’ve been blessed to ride for some fantastic people since the start of my career and it is great to have ridden 1,000 British winners at the age of the 25. There has been some amazing highlights amongst the thousand and hopefully I can continue riding winners.”

Oisin Murphy 1000 winners in the UK

The win marked only his 21st success at Southwell, with Murphy’s highest performing track of his career to date being Kempton Park (121 wins).

Amongst the 1,000 wins, Murphy has claimed 11 British Group 1 victories including three with Roaring Lion – the third being in the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes on QIPCO British Champions Day in 2018.

It is with trainer Andrew Balding that Murphy has enjoyed the most success, with the pair notching up a total of 225 wins together, including recent Group 1 wins with Alcohol Free in the Juddmonte Cheveley Park Stakes and Kameko who became the fastest QIPCO 2000 Guineas winner in history back in June.

The win with Perfect Sign takes Murphy onto 130 wins for the season and therefore 10 clear of second placed, William Buick, in the 2020 Flat Jockeys’ Championship which concludes on Saturday 7th November at Doncaster.

Flat Jockeys' Championship 2020