Guide to the new Racing League

Features | 28th July 2021

Racing League is a new competition consisting of 12 teams in a league system over a six week period starting this Thursday. Find out more...

Racing League is bringing a new type of competition to the sport of horse racing. It’s attracted big name sponsors including Talksport and eToro who back two of the 12 teams.

The exciting new competition will feature 12 teams competing for a total prize pot of £1.8 million (£50,000 for each of 36 races). Each team will consist of between two and four trainers, three jockeys, stable staff, a squad of 30 horses and a racing manager. Everyone will be wearing their team’s colours throughout the competition.

There will be six consecutive Thursday evening race meetings all live on Sky Sports starting from 29th July at Newcastle

When and where are the fixtures?

  • Thursday 29 July – Newcastle

  • Thursday 5 August – Doncaster

  • Thursday 12 August – Lingfield

  • Thursday 19 August – Windsor

  • Thursday 26 August – Lingfield

  • Thursday 2 September – Newcastle

What are the race details?

Each meeting will have six races over a range of distances from five furlong up to a mile and a half. All races are handicap races and the horses running will be three years old and above. All horses will have a handicap rating between 0-90. Each Team will only be allowed one runner per race.

There will be 36 races in total.

How does the point system work?

Each race is worth 100 points:

  • 25 points are awarded to the winner
  • 18 for 2nd place
  • 15 for 3rd
  • 12 for 4th
  • 10 for 5th
  • 8 for 6th
  • 6 for 7th
  • 3 for 8th
  • 2 for 9th
  • 1 for 10th
  • 0 points for 11th and 12th placed horses.

The team with the highest points after the last race on Thursday 2nd September at Newcastle will be crowned the Racing League champions.

For more details on the Racing League head to >>

Racing League

Who’s in the teams?

Team ThoroughBid

Trainers – Andrew Balding, Richard Hannon

Jockeys – Hayley Turner, Oisin Murphy, Sean Levey

Racing Manager – Cornelius Lysaght

Team BullionVault

Trainers – George Baker, David Menuisier, Gary Moore, Amanda Perrett

Jockeys – Jim Crowley, Hector Crouch, Pat Cosgrave

Racing Manager – George Baker

eToro Racing

Trainers – Tim Easterby, Richard Fahey

Jockeys – Paddy Mathers, David Allan, Paul Hanagan

Racing Manager – William Easterby

Goat Racing

Trainers – Tom Clover, Charlie Fellowes, Hugo Palmer, George Scott

Jockeys – Laura Pearson, James Doyle, Callum Shepherd

Racing Manager – Charlie Austin

Team ODDSbible

Trainers – Roger Charlton, Alan King, Martyn Meade, Brian Meehan

Jockeys – Jason Watson, Martin Dwyer, Thore Hammer Hansen

Racing Manager – Sam Sangster

Team Ireland

Trainers – Donnacha O’Brien, Joseph O’Brien

Jockeys – Gavin Ryan, David Egan, Dylan Browne McMonagle

Racing Manager – Kevin Blake

Team Arena

Trainers – Mick Appleby, Michael Dods, Paul Midgley, David O’Meara

Jockeys – Danny Tudhope, Cam Hardie, Paul Mulrennan

Racing Managers – Chris & Martin Dixon

Team Swish

Trainers – Clive Cox, Ed Walker, Charlie Hills, Jamie Osborne

Jockeys – Adam Kirby, Saffie Osborne, Kieran Shoemark

Racing Manager – Rosie Tapner

Team talkSPORT

Trainers – Michael Bell, Ed Dunlop, James Fanshawe, Roger Varian

Jockeys – Hollie Doyle, Jack Mitchell, Cieren Fallon

Racing Managers – Rupert Bell & Alan Brazil

Remulate Racing

Trainers – Mick Channon, Paul & Oliver Cole, Eve Johnson Houghton, Keith Dalgleish

Jockeys – George Bass, Rossa Ryan, Charles Bishop

Racing Manager – Matt Gibbens

Team Race Horse Lotto

Trainers – George Boughey, James Ferguson, William Knight, Stuart Williams

Jockeys – Nicola Currie, Marco Ghiani, Daniel Muscutt

Racing Manager – Lizzie Kelly

Newmarket Red

Trainers – Robert Cowell, John Gosden, Sir Mark Prescott, David Simcock

Jockeys – Frankie Dettori, Luke Morris, Jamie Spencer

Racing Manager – David Simcock

Racing League raffle prizes

There’s a number of brilliant on offer to be won through the Race Horse Lotto; with 10% of entries going towards the Racing To School charity.

The main prize is the chance to own a racehorse!  The winner will get sole ownership of three-year-old filly Majestic Tejaan for a whole year.

The other prizes include tickets to big international meetings such as the Dubai World Cup, Punchestown Festival and a VIP package to the Prix De L’Arc De Triomphe.

It doesn’t stop there, hospitality for two at Lingfield, signed silks and tickets to the World Darts Championships are there to be won.

Full details and how to enter are on the Race Horse Lotto website.