Racing League Unveil New Format for 2022

News | 22nd March 2022

ITV presenters Matt Chapman, Leonna Mayor and Kevin Blake are among seven team managers for the 2022 Racing League.

Racing League has announced the seven team managers for 2022 as well as the introduction of a jockey draft that will take place at Doncaster on Saturday morning, March 26.

With prize money in excess of £2 million, Racing League starts at Doncaster on August 4 and ends at Newcastle on September 15, taking in further Thursday evening fixtures at Lingfield Park, Newcastle, Windsor and Southwell.

All six meetings will be shown live on ITV Racing alongside long-term partner Sky Sports Racing.

As part of a new format, teams representing Ireland, London and the South, Scotland, the East, the North, Wales and the West, and Yorkshire will take part.

The Teams

Each team will have seven jockeys selected by the team manager via the draft. Jockeys who have signed up for this year’s Racing League include Tom Marquand and last year’s leading rider Jack Mitchell.

Following a draw to decide the initial picking order, the team managers will select jockeys in turn to ensure a fair allocation.

Find out more at