Oisin Murphy races to 50 winners in record time

News | 17th July 2020

Reigning Champion Jockey Oisin Murphy has soared to 50 winners in the 2020 Flat Jockeys’ Championship quicker than ever before after a treble at Sandown Park last night.

Oisin Murphy is the first to reach the milestone and has extended his lead at the top of the 2020 title race to 12 wins ahead of second-placed Ben Curtis (38), with Tom Marquand a further win behind in third (37).

Murphy’s 50 wins have come from 260 rides, at a strike-rate of 19%. He has reached the milestone in fewer days and with fewer rides in comparison to 2018 and his title winning year in 2019, as detailed in the table below.

Oisin Murphy record time to 50 winners

On reaching the milestone, Murphy said: “I’m delighted to have reached 50 winners for the season. The Jockeys’ Championship means so much to me, I’ve been doing my best every day to ride winners and keep my momentum. It’s a very competitive Championship with so many talented riders at the moment, but I’m fortunate to ride for so many good people.”

Notable wins amongst Murphy’s half-century this season include the first British Classic win of his career aboard Kameko in the QIPCO 2000 Guineas at the start of the campaign. He also enjoyed success with The Lir Jet in the Norfolk Stakes at Royal Ascot, and has won two races aboard Dashing Willoughby, most recently the Coral Henry II Stakes at Sandown Park Racecourse.

He has also secured trebles at Newmarket, Haydock, Windsor amongst the half-century.

The most successful trainer partnership for Oisin Murphy so far this season is Andrew Balding, with the pair enjoying 15 victories together, and his top performing track of the season so far is Kempton Park where he has secured 8 wins.

Flat Jockeys Championship 2020

Think you know everything is there to know about Oisin Murphy, take our quiz to find out if you do.