Glorious Goodwood 2020: Racing of the highest quality

Features | 27th July 2020

It's set to be a Glorious week of racing at Goodwood. Records could be broken by some of the best racehorses of this generation.

Glorious Goodwood is one of the highlights of the flat racing season with five days of thrilling action against the magnificent backdrop of the rolling Sussex countryside.

Goodwood is a hotbed of sport, it plays host to top-class motor racing, golf and cricket, and Glorious Goodwood is one of the flagship events, such is the prestige of the meeting.

It will be Glorious Goodwood unlike any other with racing behind closed doors this year due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic. The one exception is Saturday which will allow up to 5,000 annual members and their guests.

A positive step in the right direction towards crowds returning safely to the races.

Goodwood Cup

Race time: 3:15pm, Tuesday 28th July

The Goodwood Cup is race where tactical decision making and steely determination are needed to succeed.

The two-mile race has had a number of high class champions including Yeats, the European Champion Stayer from 2006 to 2009, and the 1878 winner Kincsem, a Hungarian horse that was never beaten in a 54-race career!

This year, Stradivarius will be going for a record-breaking fourth Al Shaqab Goodwood Cup. He’s currently level with Mark Johnston 90s super stayer Double Trigger.

Stradivarius is the greatest stayer of his time and if he becomes the first horse in 208 years to win the Goodwood Cup four times that will cement him further as an all-time great.

Sussex Stakes

Race time: 3:15pm, Wednesday 29th July

It is regarded as Goodwood’s most prestigious race. It’s contested between the best milers across the generations.

The race was famously by the mighty Frankel in 2011 and 2012. The only horse to win race twice in its 142 year history.

Frankel at Goodwood
2011 Sussex Stakes (left), 2012 Sussex Stakes (right)

This year we could be in with a treat. The 2020 renewal is jam packed with quality and has been dubbed as the potential race of the year.

The top four in the market are no strangers to big race glory. Irish 2000 Guineas star Siskin, Summer Mile sensation at Ascot Mohaather, 2000 Guineas champ Kameko and Royal Ascot winner Circus Maximus.

The favourite Siskin is still unbeaten after five races and goes for his third career Group 1.

Nassau Stakes

Race time: 3:15pm, Thursday 30th July

One of the top races contested between the fillies and mares of the racing calendar.

Nazeef heads the 2020 Nassau Stakes market. She’s going to Goodwood off the back of a six-race winning streak and claimed her first Group 1 in the Falmouth Stakes at Newmarket.

Another strong contender for Group 1 glory for trainer John Gosden this week.

Deirdre won last year’s race in dramatic fashion by coming from way off the pace to claim an historic British Group 1.

Deirdre wins Nassau Stakes at Goodwood
Deirdre and Oisin Murphy win from Mehdaayih and Frankie Dettori in the 2019 Nassau

She’ll be well supported by in her home country of Japan once again this year.

King George Qatar Stakes

Race time: 3:15pm, Friday 31st July

The King George Stakes is a lightning fast sprint over five furlongs. The course is practically downhill all the way, leaving the jockeys barely any time to settle and get into position.

All eyes will be on Battaash. The fastest racehorse in the world be will going for his fourth win in the race.

He’s put in some outstanding performances at Goodwood. Most notably being the 2018 renewal where he obliterated the field to win by four lengths.

Jockey Jim Crowley was singing his praises after the race, “He’s so incredibly fast. He is the batmobile.”

Stewards Cup

Race time: 3:35pm, Saturday 1st August

The Stewards Cup takes centre stage on the final day. It is one of the biggest handicaps of the year with £250,000 in prize money on offer.

The race is contested by a huge field of 25+ sprinters over six furlongs and has been known to throw up a few big priced winners.

The race has been known to produce many classy winners like Loch Song (1992) and Magical Memory (2015) that have gone on to be successful in Group races thereafter.