Jockey Daniel Tudhope reaches landmark 1,000th winner at Thirsk

Daniel Tudhope 1000 winners

Yorkshire-based jockey Daniel Tudhope today secured his 1,000th UK career victory with Ingleby Hollow at Thirsk Racecourse this afternoon, joining an illustrious list of jockeys to have reached the landmark.

Tudhope joins the likes of Frankie Dettori and three-time Champion Flat Jockey, Silvestre De Sousa, to have reached the milestone.

The win was his second of the day following an earlier win on Ninjago and marked his 63rd success at Thirsk, Tudhope’s local track and his fourth-highest performing racecourse behind Wolverhampton (98), Ayr (76), and Southwell (72).

On reaching the landmark, the 33-year-old, said: “It’s obviously a fantastic achievement and something I’m very proud to have done. It was even more special to do it at Thirsk, which is where I live, and to do it with all my family there is great.”

Ingleby Hollow is trained by David O’Meara, who is also based in Yorkshire, and the win marks Tudhope’s 413th victory for the trainer. Discussing the influence of him in reaching the milestone, Tudhope said: “Without the likes of David and my agent, Laura Way, I wouldn’t be here. It’s all down to them.”

Notable victories amongst the 1,000 include two UK Group 1 triumphs, most recently with Laurens in the Kingdom of Bahrain Sun Chariot Stakes at Newmarket and back in 2014 with the O’Meara-trained G Force in the Betfred Sprint Cup at Haydock.

Tudhope also enjoyed a victory with Lord Glitters, also trained by David O’Meara in the Balmoral Handicap on the 2017 QIPCO British Champions Day.

Discussing his career highlights, he said: “The win on G-Force in the Sprint Cup at Haydock back in 2014 definitely stands out for me. Being my first ever Group 1 win, that is something I will never forget.”


Sign up to Great British Racing for our email updates and you will receive a range of benefits, including exclusive offers, competitions and behind-the-scenes updates.