Top 5 Derby Champions of this century

The 21st century has produced some legendary Derby winning horses already with many going on to dominate the Britain, Europe and beyond in their respective generations.

This year the Derby takes place at 4:30pm on Saturday 3rd June, there are many racehorses in with a shout putting their name into the history books, but they’ll have their work cut out to join the list below.


Sinndar – 2000

Credit: BBC

The Irish thoroughbred had an extremely successful career winning some of the biggest races across Europe in the year 2000, including the Irish Derby and the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe as well as the Derby.

In the Derby, Sinndar had been expertly placed in the final furlongs by jockey Johnny Murtagh. He then showed how great he was by finding another gear to pass Sakhee and win by a length.

Trainer John Oxx said “it’s typical the way he won because he never wins by much but he’s very hardworking.”


Galileo – 2001

Credit: Gerry Cranham – Colour Library

Galileo proved that he was just a different class in the 2001 Derby when he pulled away from the rest of the field at a quarter of a mile out and won by three and a half lengths, as well as completing the course in a then record time of two minutes and 33.27 seconds.

Galileo over his career had an incredible record with six wins from eight races including multiple Group 1’s which earned him the title of European Champion Three-Year-Old Colt in 2001.

Galileo has become unbelievably successful as a stud, he has sired 65 individual Group One or Grade One winners worldwide as of May 2017 and he was the sire to the greatest ever racehorse – Frankel.


High Chaparral – 2002

The globetrotting horse won two Breeder’s Cups over in the United States as well as the English and Irish Derby in 2002.

High Chaparral gave trainer Aidan O’Brien a second consecutive win at the Derby having trained Galileo. High Chaparral proved to have superior stamina over stablemate and 9/4 favourite Hawk Wing in the 2002 Derby and won by two lengths.


Sea The Stars – 2009

Sea The Stars put himself up there as one of the all-time greats having completed the 2000 Guineas / Derby double in 2009, he was the first horse for 20 years to achieve such a feat (since Nashwan).

The Irish thoroughbred only lost once in his whole career, his performances and raw talent meant he was ranked as the number one thoroughbred in the world in 2009.


Golden Horn – 2015

The 2015 favourite gave Frankie Dettori his second Derby win which he celebrated in typical flamboyant fashion.

Golden Horn had the power in the latter stages of the race to deny Jack Hobbs and win by three and a half lengths with Dettori punching the air in delight.

The British bred horse went to win the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe the same year and he retired with a career record of 7 wins from 9 races. We’ll have to wait and see if he has similar success in his stud career in the coming years.