Jamie Spencer joins an elite group with his 2000th win

Jamie Spencer has passed 2,000 British Flat winners after landing the first race in the Shergar Cup last Saturday, he also captained the Great Britain and Ireland side to their first victory in the competition since 2006 and Spencer came second in the top jockey standings just behind team-mate Fran Berry.

Spencer now joins an elite group of Frankie Dettori, Ryan Moore and Joe Fanning as the current jockeys to reach the 2,000 milestone.

To celebrate the mightily impressive landmark, here is our list of his top three career wins in Britain so far.


2011 Ascot Gold Cup – Fame And Glory

The favourite coming into the race was Fame And Glory. With an impressive change of speed in the final furlongs he justified his position in the betting market and proved to be a class above everyone else.

Trainer Aidan O’Brien said “I’m delighted for everybody, delighted for Jamie (Spencer), who gave him a great ride!”


2009 Investec Oaks – Sariska

Sariska and Jamie Spencer (left) winning The Investec Oaks from Midday (near)

It was one of the most exciting Oaks in recent memory- two top champions in Sariska and Midday with two top jockeys in Jamie Spencer and Tom Queally battled it out between themselves in an extremely tight contest with Sariska prevailing by a head.

See the thrilling finish of the 2009 Oaks here.


2003 St Leger – Brian Boru

This was Spencer’s first English Classic and it was a trademark Spencer late surge.

Half a mile left in the race and Brian Boru was in last place of 12 runners, however, Spencer appeared nerveless and utterly confident with his ice-cool demeanour. The favourite Brian Boru quickened in the final two furlongs to speed past High Accolade and Martin Dwyer. This style has been a trademark of his career, from a man who knows how to time a finish.

The 2005 and joint 2007 British Champion Jockey has also had 28 Group One victories to his name including four Irish Classics, one at the age of just 17 and in the process became the youngest jockey to win a Classic!